Ashtanga Yoga Classes in the Tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

Posted by on Sep 1, 2015 in Ashtanga Yoga, Yoga Illumined Studio | No Comments

Yoga Illumined is thrilled to have Christine Anderson and Steven Joyner lead our Ashtanga Program taught in the lineage of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. This energetic and athletic style of Yoga practice appeals to those who like a sense of order — sequencing is familiar, modular, consistent — and for those who have a lot of tapas – fire to burn old habits (samskaras) out of their systems.

Yoga Class Style:

  • Ashtanga ‪‎Yoga Program taught in the lineage of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois

Yoga Teachers:

  • Christine Anderson and Steven Joyner

Yoga Schedule:

  • Beginning September 9, Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, 8:30 am and 4:30 pm

#utplutih ādarśa

A photo posted by Steven Joyner (@joynerjerky) on

beautiful mermaid #acrovinyasa A photo posted by Steven Joyner (@joynerjerky) on

Day 13 #urdhvadhanurasana #yogagivesbackchallenge #atx #oracticeisthepath   A video posted by Christine (@c_ander89) on

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, usually referred to simply as Ashtanga Yoga, is a Yoga style popularized by K. Pattabhi Jois and which is often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian Yoga.

Ashtanga (or, Astanga) means “eight limbs” in Sanskrit, which also refers to the eight limbs of Yoga as based in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. The Ashtanga method of Asana practice was interpreted by T. Krishnamacharya and Sri K. Pattabhi Jois from an ancient text called the Yoga Korunta, which they claimed described a unique system of Hatha Yoga developed by Vamana Rishi.

Christine Anderson, Steven Joyner, Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga, Ashtanga, Astanga, Vinyasa, Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, K. Pattabhi Jois, Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, Mysore Practice, Yoga Illumined, Yoga Studio, Yoga Classes, Austin, Austin Yoga, Yoga in Austin, ATX, ATX Yoga, Texas

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois studied as a young man with Krishnamacharya from 1927 to 1953 and in 1948, Jois established the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute in Mysore. The Belgian Andre Van Lysebeth once spent two months in 1964 with Jois learning the primary and intermediate series of the Ashtanga Yoga System.  Later Van Lysebeth wrote a book called Yoga Self-Taught (1967) which mentioned Jois and marked the beginning of westerners going to Mysore in order to study Yoga. At this time, Jois started travelling in the US to teach, beginning the rise of Ashtanga Yoga. Later his son Manju and his grandson Sharath followed his footsteps, making Ashanga Yoga a world known Yoga style.

Jois Ashtanga method stresses daily Vinyasa flow practice using Ujjayi Breathing, Mula Bandha, Uddiyana Bandha, and Drishti. There are six different Ashtanga series, through which a student progresses at their own pace.

  • Yoga Chikitsa — the primary series of 75 Yoga poses is described in Yoga Mala which means Yoga therapy intended to realign the spine, detoxify the body, and build strength, flexibility, and stamina.
  • Nadi Shodana — the intermediate series cleanses and strengthens the nervous system and the subtle energy channels throughout the body. This series is only introduced when the student has mastered the primary series.
  • Sthira Bhaga — the four advanced series which means divine stability. Pattabhi Jois originally outlined two intensive advanced series, but later divided them into four series to make them more accessible to people. These series emphasize difficult arm balances and are only appropriate for extremely advanced students.

Yoga Illumined Studio
The Shops at Soco
3801 South Congress, Suite 111
Austin, Texas 78704

Call us TOLL-FREE 866-447-6943 for more information.


Like Yoga Illumined on Facebook.

Join: Yoga Illumined 2015-2016 200-500 Hour Yoga Teacher Training Courses.