Yoga Illumined's Philosophy

Yoga Illumined

We believe that everyone is whole, perfect, supreme and filled with bliss.  We believe everyone is a Yogi.  Yoga Illumined’s mission is to bring the sciences and practices of Yoga into everyday life so that everyone can remember who we all really are:  love and light itself.  The word “Yoga” means to “Yoke.”  Our classes and offerings aim to help you bridge or yoke all aspects of life – mind – body -spirit / work-play-rest / public – private – social so that you can live life to the fullest, lessening inconsistency across the multi-dimensions we all function in everyday.   It is not unusual for you to chant in Sanskrit – the original language of Yoga – in many of our classes.  We believe in building community and bringing the 3 great paths of Yoga into reality for everyone:  Bhakti – Devotion and Love; Karma – Giving back to the community; and Jnana – the path of Wisdom and Knowledge.

Yoga Illumined IMG_2196upholds the 8-limbs of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali in all of our offerings:

1) Yama – external precepts of Yoga (willpower)

  •    Ahimsa – Loving-kindness and non-violence
  •    Satya – Truthfulness and honesty
  •    Asteya – Non-stealing
  •    Brahmacharya – Abidance in the Self and moderation
  •    Aparigraha – Non-clinging and non-attachment

2) Niyama – internal precepts of Yoga (how to attain willpower)

  •    Saucha – Cleanliness
  •    Santosha – Contentment
  •    Tapah – Discipline
  •    Svadhyaya – Self-study and study of ancient and Sanskrit and world Scriptures
  •    Ishvara-Pranidhana – Surrender to God (Yoga honors all world religions steeped in truth and love for all beings, is non-denominational and encourages unity for all cultures and faiths)

3) Asana physical practices of Yoga (mudra, vinyasa, hatha)

4) Pranayama – breathwork (expansion of life-force)

5) Pratyahara – deep relaxation (knowledge of Self beyond 5-sensory organs)

6) Dharana – increased focus and concentration (learn to retain attention on what is most rewarding in life)

7) Dhyana – meditation (one’s natural state of ease)

8) Samadhi – highest states of enlightenment (understanding of levels of consciousness – bliss)

No matter what stage of life you are in, no matter how old or young you are, no matter your physical ability, Yoga Illumined has an offering that will suit you – one-on-one or in a group class setting.